Top Ten Tuesdays: Books At the top Of My Spring TBR List

Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish 

Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR Pile: 



 

I've talked quite a lot about my Grandmother and Alzheimer's here in the past. It's a subject very close to our whole families hearts. My eight year old daughter has been very involved in her care and I want to highlight books with the theme of children coping with caring for a loved one with the disease, and these two books fit the bill. 

***




Final instalments from three of my favourite series over the last couple of years.  

***


 

I'm off to Tenerife for a week at the beginning of May. This is my planned beach reading. 

***


 

These two are review books, I'm taking part in a blog tour for By Any Other Name and The Kitchen House is outstanding from the Amazon Vine program. 

Mini Book Review: The Palace Of Curiosities by Rosie Garland


A luminous and bewitching debut novel that is perfect for fans of Angela Carter. Set in Victorian London, it follows the fortunes of Eve, the Lion-Faced Girl and Abel, the Flayed Man. A magical realism delight. Before Eve is born, her mother goes to the circus. She buys a penny twist of coloured sugar and settles down to watch the heart-stopping main attraction: a lion, billed as a monster from the savage heart of Africa, forged in the heat of a merciless sun. Mama swears she hears the lion sigh, just before it leaps...and when Eve is born, the story goes, she didn't cry - she meowed and licked her paws. When Abel is pulled from the stinking Thames, the mudlarks are sure he is long dead. As they search his pockets to divvy up the treasure, his eyes crack open and he coughs up a stream of black water. But how has he survived a week in that thick stew of human waste? Cast out by Victorian society, Eve and Abel find succour from an unlikely source. They will become The Lion Faced Girl and The Flayed Man, star performers in Professor Josiah Arroner's Palace of Curiosities. And there begins a journey that will entwine their fates forever. (from Goodreads.com) 

I was tempted by this book thinking it sounded similar to The Night Circus- which I adored. It isn't really anything like it though. Although I did quite enjoy it, I found it a little disturbing at times and the story a bit vague and unrounded for my taste.

Told in alternating chapters by Eve and Abel,the pace was steady and kept me interested. I liked Abel's chapters more, and overall found his story much more intriguing. As a character, he's fascinating I'd certainly love to know more about him.

This book is pretty disturbing at times, particularly scenes of self mutilation. I think I'm pretty strong stomached and even I winced once or twice. This probably isn't for the faint-hearted!

Rosie Garland certainly has a beautiful way with words. Her prose is rich and evocative. However, I found the book on the whole a little unsatisfactory. Vague and underdeveloped characters left me a bit frustrated. 

Published by HarperCollins Uk 28th March (copy recieved from the Amazon Vine program)

Happy World Book Day

Lucy is taking her favourite book to school today. It's The Twits by Roald Dahl. If you have a reluctant reader, then I can't recommend this one enough. Lots of laughs and eww grossness... I promise it'll be a hit. Here's Lu completely engrossed as I stand at the door shouting 'we have to go now!'

So how are your little people celebrating? If you had to take you're favourite book to share, what would it be?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Follow by Email