Waiting On Wednesday: The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking The Spine, and is a weekly event to spotlight upcoming releases we can't wait to get our hands on.  


The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan  



A lyrical and moving debut in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, introducing an original and commanding new voice in fiction

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, sending the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.  

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age. 

Published May 7th 2015 by Harvill Secker (UK) 

SOOOOO... This sounds good! It reminds me a bit of The Night Circus from the blurb, and then I read an early review that compared it to it in atmosphere and magical-ness (!?!) As The Night Circus is one of my favourite books of all time, this is firmly on my waiting for wishlist. 

3 comments:

  1. This sounds like a rely intriguing read.

    My WOW http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/waiting-on-wednesday-28.html

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow--
    Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood! Sounds impressive! Thanks for sharing this one!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I hope you like it!
    My WoW: http://onceuntold.blogspot.com/2015/02/waiting-on-wednesday-3-manwhore.html

    ReplyDelete

Popular Posts

Follow by Email