Blog Tour: Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney - Guest Post and Review

Today I'm thrilled to be hosting the latest stop on the Sometimes I Lie blog tour and welcoming Alice Feeney with a guest post discussing the inspiration behind her love of writing, followed by a review - which I warn you now is GUSHY because I LOVED this book! But for now, over to Alice....
 ***************

I’ve been trying to write books for a very long time. When I was a little girl, I used to sit in the small room at the back of my parents’ shop, while they worked I would read as well as make up my own stories. I used to write them on folded up pieces of A4 photocopy paper, and I think my Dad still has one I made when I was six or seven. It was a bit like The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, I can still remember how proud I was of it now - I thought it was brilliant! 
Things got a bit more serious when I turned thirty. I had a great job working for the BBC, but deep down I knew that all I really wanted to do was write that book, like I’d imagined myself doing as a little girl. It feels like I’ve been scribbling in my spare time ever since. I’ve tried and failed a few times. I have my fair share of rejection letters, but each time, I just picked myself up and tried again – it’s just what you have to do.  
 
It took me six months to write the first draft of Sometimes I Lie. This time last year, I was still busy writing it. I wrote this novel while working full time as a producer on the BBC’s One O’clock News, so some parts were written in my garden shed at home, but others were written on the train to work or in my lunch breaks. It was like an obsession and it took over everything. If you told me back then that it would be a real book less than a year later, I wouldn’t have believed you!   
The last few months, being approached by agents and publishers, has been the most wonderful whirlwind! An amazing agent called Jonny Geller took a chance on me and my novel, and has since sold it around the world. I’m now able to write full time, which has always been my dream and I feel incredibly lucky - it is quite simply the best job in the world! 

                                     *************** 
Review

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.

1. I’m in a coma

2. My husband doesn’t love me any more

3. Sometimes I lie

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won’t be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it’s perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow. 

Published by HQ 23rd March 2017 (UK)
O.M.G - pretty much sums up my reaction to this book, from the first page to last. I wasn't just gripped - I was transfixed, unable to take my eyes from the words as twist after twist was revealed and chapter after chapter sped by.   

Sometimes I Lie is mind blowingly clever and complex. In short, because I don't want to give away too much detail of the plot, it tells the story of Amber Reynolds, a woman who has found herself in hospital in a coma. What's really fascinating first of all, is that it's told from Amber's perspective as she lies there, presumed to be unaware of what's going on around her by her family, but able to hear everything. Alice Feeney completely convinced me here, everything from the descriptions of sounds and smells in the hospital, to feelings of panic, fear, confusion and frustration experienced by Amber. This alone makes the book stand out for it's originality and intrigue. 

The chapters alternate between her time in a coma and the days leading up to the event that causes her to be there. There's also another story woven in between the chapters, causing the reader to wonder how exactly it all ties together. The plotting is intricate and brilliant, as pieces of the puzzle are put together, then reshuffled and put back together again. Honestly, the twists and turns that are pulled out during this book come like bolts of lightening one after the other, making Sometimes I Lie an exhilarating, heart pumping, thrill of a read.  Alice Feeney plays mind games with the reader, leading you down one path, then dropping a bombshell to make you shout out loud. Every time I thought I knew exactly what was going on, bam! - that certainty is shattered. Right through to the very last page. 

It took me two sittings to read this book, and it was only because I had to take a break (mother duties) that I did. I could not stop reading. I had to know what happened. It is completely compelling, original and twisty and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. Sometimes I Lie is my book of 2017 so far, and it's going to take a lot to beat it. Alice Feeney is without doubt an author to watch out for...I think we'll be hearing a lot more from her in the future! 

(I read an advance Ebook edition courtesy of the publisher)  


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Follow by Email